Wappen

Wolter v.Tiesenhausen

Wolter v.T.

Wolter Freiherr v. Tiesenhausen was born on 30 September 1940 in Athens, where his father, Berend Reinhold Freiherr v. Tiesenhausen, was editor in chief of the German newspaper "Neue Athener Zeitung". He grew up in Giessen, West Germany, and began his journalistic career in the German service of the American news agency "The Associated Press". In 1963 he changed to AP´s parliamentary office in Bonn. Two years later he started working for the Bonn office of "Mannheimer Morgen", aswell as several other regional newspapers.

In 1966, he married Waltraut Glasenapp. Their daughter Elisabeth was born in 1967, followed by two sons: Matthias (1970) and Cyrill (1975). In 1980, the family moved to Kiel, capital of the German land Schleswig Holstein, where Wolter worked for the then Prime Minister Gerhard Stoltenberg. He wrote speeches for Stoltenberg and worked on the politician´s federal engagements, which at the time was a particularly interesting task as Stoltenberg was part of the CDU shadow cabinet led by Franz Josef Strauss. But already one year later, the then leader of the federal opposition and chairman of the Christian Democratic Party, Helmut Kohl, called Wolter back to Bonn.

This excursion into politics was followed by a long-lasting career-shift into radio journalism, as Wolter became the chief editor of the Bonn office of Deutsche Welle (Germany’s international radio). In 1997 he moved to Berlin where he led the transformation of the Deutsche Welle’s Berlin office into a parliamentary studio.

Wolter v. Tiesenhausen is a knight ("Rechtsritter") of the Order of St. John, he has been decorated with the federal merit cross ("Bundesverdienstkreuz") first class and has held honorary positions in professional and charity organisations. He is not a good, but a passionate golf player, loves the opera and is interested in the Middle Ages and recent history. His dream is to write a great historical novel.

Wolter@Tiesenhausen.de

updated : 10/31/01

Cyrill v.T.
Geschichte
Wappen
Interna
Links
Toggle english / german version

Wappen

Wolter v.Tiesenhausen

Wolter v.T.

Wolter Freiherr v.Tiesenhausen wurde am 30.September 1940 in Athen geboren, wo sein Vater, Berend Reinhold Frhr.v.Tiesenhausen, Chefredakteur der deutschsprachigen "Neuen Athener Zeitung" war. Aufgewachsen in Giessen begann er 1960 ein Volontariat beim deutschen Dienst der amerikanischen Nachrichtenagentur "The Associated Press". Als junger Redakteur wurde er 1963 nach Bonn in die dortige Parlamentsredaktion versetzt. Zwei Jahre später wechselte er in die Bonner Redaktion des "Mannheimer Morgen", die auch für zahlreiche andere Regionalzeitungen arbeitete.

1966 folgte die Eheschliessung mit Waltraut Glasenapp. 1967 wurde die Tochter Elisabeth, 1970 der Sohn Matthias und 1975 der Sohn Cyrill geboren. 1980 folgte Wolter v.Tiesenhausen dem Ruf das damaligen schleswig-holsteinischen Ministerpräsidenten Gerhard Stoltenberg und wurde Referent in der Kieler Staatskanzlei. Er schrieb Reden für den Ministerpräsidenten und betreute dessen bundespolitisches Engagement, damals eine besonders interessante Aufgabe, da Stoltenberg sozusagen als Vizekanzlerkandidat der Christdemokraten neben den Spitzenkandidaten Franz Josef Strauss auftrat. Schon ein Jahr später holte der damalige Oppositionsführer und Bundesvorsitzende der CDU Helmut Kohl Wolter v.Tiesenhausen als Sprecher der Bundespartei zurück nach Bonn.

Dem Ausflug in die Politik folgte 1986 der Wechsel zur Deutschen Welle als Leiter des Bonner Parlamentsstudios. 1997 übernahm Tiesenhausen die Leitung des Berliner Studios, das unter seiner Führung zum Parlamentsstudio umgebaut wurde. 2005 trat er in den Ruhestand.

Wolter v.Tiesenhausen ist Rechtsritter des Johanniterordens, Träger des Bundesverdienstkreuzes und hat Ehrenämter in berufsständigen und karitativen Organisationen ausgeübt. Er ist kein guter aber ein leidenschaftlicher Golfsspieler, liebt das Musiktheater, interessiert sich für Mediavistik aber auch die Zeitgeschichte und träumt davon, den grossen historischen Roman zu schreiben. Vor allem aber gilt seine Zuneigung den vier Enkelkindern.

letzte Änderung : 27.12.08

Cyrill v.T.
Geschichte
Wappen
Interna
Links
Toggle english / german version